Britt Daniel: New Spoon Album Is “Uglier” (+ Tracklist, Release Date)

spoonMaybe it’s a good thing Spoon thinks they got nuffin to lose. With so many critically acclaimed albums and recent word that their seventh (!) album, Transference, is on the way, it seems they will continue to subtly evolve and tighten (or perhaps loosen?) their sound and style, while still keeping that Pavement-esque oomph that attracted me to them in the first place. As Britt Daniel put it on their website, “this is pure Spoon.” When compared to the produced, semi-gloss of Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, Daniel told Spinner, “it’s an uglier record.” Unless it leaks, we’ll have to wait until January 26, 2010 to see what’s what.

But I digress –track list, previously released track (and possible lead single from Transference) “Got Nuffin”, PLUS the excellent video for “Don’t You Evah” featuring the adorable Keepon after the cut.

P.S. I just love this picture of the band. It’s like the coolest, yet most ridiculous AT&T commercial I’ve never seen.


01 Before Destruction
02 Is Love Forever?
03 The Mystery Zone
04 Who Makes Your Money
05 Written in Reverse
06 I Saw the Light
07 Trouble Comes Running
08 Goodnight Laura
09 Out Go the Lights
10 Got Nuffin
11 Nobody Gets Me But You

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply